CALL US | WE'RE OPEN LATE: 1-800-882-4323

 
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Not what I thought it would be

Other ""Guy Stuff"" that I own are the laptop bag, the carry-on and the shaving travel kit. I am satisfied with these items and use them quite often. I purchased the Cabin Bag because I wanted a bag to carry my laptop and travel stuff that was a little more compact than the laptop bag that I use daily. In the picture, it looked like this bag would fit my needs. It dosen't. My laptop (15"") does not fit in the bag without having to tug the sides around the computer. When the laptop is forced into the bag, it becomes difficult to zip the compartment. The padding around the sides of the compartment is poor. The padding at the base of the bag does not extend the full length of the bottom of the bag. This padding is also inadequate. Also, when you open the bag, everything, except the laptop, spills out. Remember, the laptop had to be forced into the poorly padded compartment. The concept is good, but the design is poor. I am not pleased with this product.

8/1/2012

Surveyor

Greensburg, PA

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Great All-Round Bag

The upside to this bag is that it is made for travel. When boarding a plane, I can put it under the front seat which makes for convenient access during the flight. There is plenty of room for the iPad, notepad, pens, and the other dozens of little convenient accessories one likes to fiddle with after thoroughly digesting the SkyMall magazine. The bag is handsome in a manly fashion, stylish, functional and convenient. I particularly appreciate the extra pockets and stash areas, two of which securely hold my sunglasses/case and binoculars in opposing pockets, snuggly inside the large zippered section. The khaki is durable and rugged and will take a beating if you tend to be hard on your possessions. The buffalo leather is tastfully added in all the right places creating just the right accent impact. I frequently get unsolicited comments which confirm my own impressions/opinions of this bag. The biggest downside is the quality of the zippers and the relative formlessness of the bag. I can see an inevitable zipper or two being replaced within the next couple of years, but for me, that does not detract from overall functionality or style. The bag kind of forms around the shape of the items placed inside, so I would not transport fragile items unless they are well cushioned. The cost is irritatingly inflated as are many of TA's accessories but if one uses it consistently over time, the investment should level out. Overall, I really like this bag and highly recommend it if you are frequent traveler. With TA's return guarantees it is well worth trying it out.

6/8/2012

Pablo49

Tulsa, Oklahoma

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Nice bag but a bit flimsy

Even after reading other reviews, I purchased this bag to use as an option to laptop bags that I use for travel. The reviews had pointed out the khaki material is a bit flimsy and doesn't provide much shape when you have to take stuff out for airport security. The description of ""heavyweight"" canvas is not accurate. This is the major flaw in this bag; however, I do like the look and this short fall is manageable.

6/7/2012

MileHigh

Coconut Grove, FL

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Good size, good looking, not to carry laptop

So after keeping eyes on for an about a half year, I finally decided to pull the trigger on this. First impression : just like in the picture, it is a very good looking bag and the feel is very nice. Good: Very nice looking as I mentioned earlier and the weight is about right and it is very comfortable both straight or in cross body style. The size is also nice although it looks small, you can carry a lot... I can carry my galaxy 10.1 tab, kindle, lunch, and jacket - the bag may look funny, but I can carry them comfortably. The front 2 compartment is big enouh to carry my sunglass case and small items. Top leather part, I carry my work ID and keys - it has that key holder thing with NICE hardware. All hardwares used in this bag is high quality. Neutral: I am not so sure if I can say that there are 'compartments'. In my opinion, there is actually no sections - it is divided into 2 sections but the small section is not really big enough for something thick and this is where I carry my tablet and kindle since it has VERY minimal padding. And the large compartment. I actually have to say I like it because I can lay my lunch flat so it won't leak. Not so good: This is my 4th week owning this bag, I think, and some of seams from the front compartment is coming off. it does seem simple to re-stitch but I think it is too 'soon' for me to do so for the price. Summary: Overall I like the bag and I would recommend to my friends, however, if you want to carry a valuable electronics, I would put them in protective 'pouch' first. I do carry my laptop (13.3in) and I wouldn't carry it without protective sleeve.

4/26/2012

reviewer444

Philadelphia, PA

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Nice Bag

This is a nice bag for carrying your daily stuff to work or school, maybe even a small weekend getaway bag. No problems with ""spillage""; I just open it when its laying on a surface. A little pricey, but I got it on sale and it was a splurge item.

3/28/2012

Stork

North Carolina

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Truly a great bag...

I just returned from another trip and I love this bag...3 years now and it has not failed in 10 states and 3 countries... Perfect for the plane ride, and everywhere else.

3/18/2012

Buck2112

Westchester, NY

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Not a laptop bag

The bag is stylish, well-made and fun .... but. I bought it to use as a laptop bag. My computer is just shy of the 15 inches allotted, but it still gets caught on the interior side storage bags. As for padding, there is a little at the bottom, but virtually none on the sides and top, thus leaving the computer subject to bumps, especially when under an airline seat. I would have happily given up some of the room inside (and there is a lot) for some padding. And it's difficult to get a computer in and out. Smaller machines may work better. A few tweaks and this could be a great bag, but it's not there yet.

3/5/2012

NashvilleFlyer

Nashville, TN

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Fabulous bag!

OK, I confess in advance that this is going to sound a little like one of those ""J. Peterman"" things from Seinfeld, but seriously, I am a journalist and amateur/advanced photographer (I've actually sold a few photos to go with stories I've written) and during the past two years, I have used this bag on trips to China, Tibet, Nepal, Moscow, NYC, LA, Denver, Atlanta, Chicago, DC (and, I'm pretty sure some other places I'm not recalling right now) carrying cameras, lenses, chewing gum, cigarettes and Chantex, tape recorders, visas, interview documents, legal pads, pens, Bose headsets and simple ear buds, iPhones and Blackberries, AA and AAA batteries, as well as chargers, international plug sets, sandwiches, etc. -- as well as visits to my accountant, lawyer and the bank re-fi folks, and found this to be a fabulous side-kick. It can be organized in many ways. The zippers are at times a bit dodgy, but ultimately reliable. I have frequently traveled with an iPad, but never a laptop, which I suspect might make the bag a bit burdensome; unlike true ""messenger bags"" this one becomes a bit discomforting when heavily loaded. BUT, unlike ""messenger bags"" this bag is classy, sophisticated, and it's fine organization makes it a real pleasure to have under the seat in front of you when you are on a long flight or intensely busy trip.

2/22/2012

Mjz1

60 Miles Outside DC

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Open Bag, Spill Contents

Despite several low reviews, I ordered this bag anyway hoping that I could live with the problems that were identified. But, I have decided to return it because there is a major problem that becomes clear once you have the bag in hand - when the bag is full and the zippered flap for the main compartment is opened, the contents are going to tend to spill out. The picture doesn't show it well enough, but the zippered flap entends down the front of the bag about half way. So instead of being a full 10 1/2 - 11 inches in height on all 4 sides, the front of the bag is only half that. And because the canvas has no underlying structure, it collapses and the contents fall out. Otherwise, the bag is well made and in addition to the outside pockets, it has several inside pockets for cell phones or similar sized objects and several pens.

2/8/2012

HarvJ